The Ten Minutes Standing Recipe

That’s all I have energy for, ten minutes.  With my body still protesting from tonight’s gym workout, I dread making dinner, thinking  Oh, can’t we just order something, please; can’t I just sit down?

I’ve started training for a half marathon, and after tonight’s treadmill time, I can barely stand, let alone move.  I was going to make a quick black beans and sweet potato soup that a friend recommended, but when I saw this Meatless Monday recipe on myrecipes.com, I decided it looked easy enough; it was a win-win: quick recipe and a non-guilt inducing meal.  I figured that though I could barely move without grunting in pain, I could open a can of black beans, run a food processor, and arrange burritos to cook for 20 minutes. I felt so proud of myself that I even added in an extra vegetable in the form of spinach.  Not only that, but I was so lazy I decided I didn’t want to grate cheese, so I took sandwich slices and ripped them up to go on top of the burritos.

It all felt like I was cheating.  I was standing for only 8 minutes preparing the meal.  I spent a few more minutes making the burritos, and thank God, because that is seriously all I had energy for.  Pure Brilliance!

So, here it is…the 10 minute recipe for days when the gym has beaten you into submission.  Adapted from Black Bean Burrito Bake from myrecipes.com

1 15 ounce can black beans, drained
1 chipotle pepper in adobo sauce, grab a teaspoon of the sauce while you’re at it
1 cup of fresh spinach
1 heaping tablespoon of cumin
1/2 cup fresh cilantro, roughly chopped (it’s going in the food processor, so don’t be too picky about size)
1/2 cup of plain yogurt
1/2 15 ounce can of corn
4 whole wheat tortillas
1 cup store bought salsa, recommended roasted tomato variety
3 slices of pepper jack cheese, ripped length-wise
2-3 sliced green onions

In a food processor, combine, half the beans, the chipotle pepper, adobo sauce, spinach, and cumin.  Blend until smooth.

In a medium sized bowl, combine the rest of the beans with the yogurt, corn, and pureed bean mixture.  Mix well.

Spray a small baking dish with cooking spray.  Fill each tortilla with about 1/2 cup of the filling mixture.  Roll up and place the seam side down.  Pour salsa over the burritos.  Place pieces of pepper jack cheese over the top of each burrito.  Bake at 350 degrees for 20 minutes, and go sit down because you deserve it.  Garnish with freshly cut green onions.

Leave a Reply

