My first ever really long run

Part of training for a long distance event, like a half marathon, are the weekly long runs.  At the beginning of my training, I didn’t pay much attention to them, as I was focused on being able to jog more then 2 miles.

So, Natalie and I met last Saturday for our first ever long long run.  Our training schedule said 5.66 miles, and we were going to meet, wog together, then go our paces, and meet at the end.

5.66 miles, definitely the most I’ve ever wogged in my life.  I’d been able to do the 3 and 4 mile wogs fine, but this past week, I really wanted to challenge myself with how far I could jog.  So far, the max had been 3.5 miles.  Ultimately, I was unable to jog the entire way, I still was able to jog about 4.5 miles of it, the most ever in my life.  Yup, a proud feat.

There were 4 strategies that helped me get through that first long run.

1.  Making an exercise date.  Natalie and I made plans to meet at the park, so I couldn’t procrastinate.

2.  Making 2 different playlists on my ipod.

One I call my “Movin’ Along” music.  It has good songs with rhythmic beats, but the songs are not that intense.  “Movin’ Along” includes songs like “Rolling in the Deep,” “Ride a White Horse,” “Bad Romance,” “Telephone,” “Billie Jean,” among other songs.

The second playlist is called, “Pump It.”  It’s for when my body does not want to jog anymore, but I have to somehow trick it to keep going.  Songs on this playlist include, “La Loba,” “Harder, Better, Faster, Stronger,” “Hot n Cold,” Only Girl,” “Ghosts ‘n’ Stuff.”

3.  Playing mind games with myself.  Here’s how some of my interior monologues went: I have to jog just until the end of this song, oh no, I like this next song a lot, I’ll jog until the end of this song instead.  What?  Only .75 miles to the end of the trail, ok, I can jog another .25.  Only 1/2 mile left, OK, just one more quarter mile.  Oh goodness, come on now, I can see the end of the trail.  (Cue the ghosts ‘n’ stuff for the 2nd time in a row)

4.  Walking when I really have pushed myself.  After 2 miles, I walked about 1/2 mile.  Then, I started back up again and was able to jog about 2.5 more.  See #2 and #3 for how
I was able to miraculously do that.

Here were a couple of my mistakes:

1.  Eating bacon for breakfast.  OK, it was 1 piece.  Kris made Swedish pancakes, and they are oh so good, so I ate a few of those too.  After about 3 miles, I started to feel nauseous, and got burpy, and guess what flavor started to come out above all others?  This tells me that I need to really start figuring out how to eat properly before a long run.

2.  Not stretching.  This is a big one for me.  I have not been very consistent with my stretches, but it’s been slowly changing.

Oh my goodness, my body was in pain the next day.  Sore, but at the same time, I have never felt so proud of myself.

Leave a Reply

