How to Make a Basic Vinaigrette

With my naked, homegrown salad, I wanted a basic balsamic vinaigrette.  Once you start making your own vinaigrettes and realize how easy they are, there’s no limit to your imagination.

At its essence, a basic vinaigrette is 4 ingredients, plus salt and pepper, alright, 6 ingredients.  Plus 3 tools: a small whisk (or fork), a prep bowl, and garlic press.I minced 1 clove of garlic in a small prep bowl.Then I combined 2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar and 1/2 teaspoon spicy deli-style mustard.  Please don’t use basic yellow mustard; it really doesn’t have the same flavor as deli mustard.  I stirred to combine.While whisking, I drizzled in 2-3 tablespoons of olive oil.  It wasn’t possible for me to get a picture while one hand whisked and the other drizzled, sorry.  Then I poured the vinaigrette over my salad and mixed with my hands.

Once you get comfortable with the basic canvas, play around with other ingredients you may enjoy: lemon juice/zest, spices, different vinegars, different oils, orange juice, etc.  Always taste the dressing before pouring it on the salad.

Leave a Reply

